17 People

Response #1: People as Purpose of Higher Ed

with one comment

Tiffani’s personal post “Getting Back to Me” has stuck with me ever since I read it last week. It made me question what I got out of my alma mater and what I miss about it.

I have to say that I had a relatively easy transition post-college. I had a job by the end of the summer after I graduated, and I moved to DC with two of my best friends from college. I actually sort of blossomed down here. Ha, okay, blossomed is a bit much. But it’s as if the confidence that was building inside of me by the end of my time at school suddenly came out at full capacity. DC, even with all of its overachieving and strategically-minded young pros, was the place where my self-doubt took a back seat. And I never really felt that stomach-turning longing to go back to college.

How did I get to this point? I definitely credit my education, but even more so the overall experience of university life. After being in a university setting as both a student and staff member for over six years now, I realize that what makes or breaks your experience in higher education is the people. I began working at Georgetown four days after moving to DC, and I have met some of the smartest, funniest, and overwhelmingly caring people there. They made me feel like I was coming home every day that I went into work. My colleagues allowed me to shine in the workplace and fostered a confidence that had yet to fully mature.

Even still, I often ask myself, don’t I miss my college days? Not really. For me, my college experience was great because of the people, and I have seen my best friends from school every month since we walked in May 2008. They are what defined me then, and they are what defines me now. Yes, the education was wonderful, but truth be told I could have read those books anywhere. It was the people I was surrounded by at Cornell, and the people that surround me now, that have made my higher education experiences truly unforgettable.

Written by taryou

November 16, 2010 at 1:35 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] taryou, I was immediately moved by Tiffany’s “Getting Back to Me” post from last week. […]


Leave a Reply

